Groovbert Live / Centru

Data și ora:

Calea Victoriei 48 - 50, Pasajul Victoria, Bucharest, Romania


Centru presents Groovbert

March 15th 9 PM

Groovbert (Live Jazz Trio)

Groovbert is a lively project involving 3 accomplished musicians: Johnny Bica at the keyboards, Andy Ava and his bass & Norbert Halmagyi with the drums.

The three musicians, sometimes accompanied by various guests, perform experimental jazz sets and are always improvising. They call their music "context oriented", as they aim to take the groove and the vibe from the people and places that surround them when playing. We often see them together with the percussionist Cristian Melak, the sax master Paolo Profeti and even DJs from "the family".

They started the project in late 2015, with Vinyl, Rum, Tapas & Wine. However they have been playing together for some time now, as early as 2012, alongside the lovely Aylin & The Lucky Charms. Each of them is active in various other projects in jazz, pop & electronic music.

Johnny Bica is a pianist and composer originating from the jazz side of things. He performs actively with Aylin & The Lucky Charms, Bucharest Jazz Orchestra, The Jam Community and also touches electronic music with NOPAME.

Andy Ava, also a certified composer and jazzman, started off with classical guitar. While developing his apetite for jazz and participating at various festivals within different projects in Romania, he began studying the bass guitar. He presently perfoms a large variety of genres, like rythm'n'blues, pop, rock, blues & jazz. He plays alongside Django Sound Quartet, Aylin & The Lucky Charms, Helen, Ellie White, Trupa Hara, Peter Pop and Nightshift.

Norbert Halmagy is a drummer, producer and composer with an apetite for variation, going into pop, funk, electro, hip hop and jazz. He founded Mushroom Story and Groovbert, is a founding member of NOPAME, and performs alongside Aylin & The Lucky Charms and the A/V project Kaleidonescu. He also collaborated with Elena Mandru, Luiza Zan, Petra Acker, Lucia, Aldo Blaga, Ovi Jacobsen, Maria Alexievici, Afterwhat and Breeze.